A New Standalone Hulk Movie “Will Never Happen,” Mark Ruffalo Says

Will another standalone Hulk movie ever happen? The chances are slim to none, according to actor Mark Ruffalo. Speaking to Variety, Ruffalo said it comes down to the fact that Universal owns the rights to the character and they won’t allow it to happen.

“I want to just make one thing perfectly clear today: A standalone Hulk movie will never happen,” the actor said. “Universal has the rights [for standalone Hulk movies], and for some reason, they don’t know how to play well with Marvel. And, they don’t want to make money.”

Don Cheadle was standing next to Ruffalo for the interview and he jokingly jabbed at Ruffalo for being too old to play Hulk anyway.

Later in the interview, Ruffalo confirmed that discussions did happen about a new standalone Hulk movie, but they didn’t amount to anything. “We talked about it, but I don’t see it in the cards.”

Universal has held the Hulk standalone movie rights dating back to the 2003 movie Hulk, which starred Eric Bana. Another movie, The Incredible Hulk starring Edward Norton, came out in 2008. Ruffalo played Bruce Banner/Hulk in Avengers: Age of Ultron and will portray the character again in this year’s Thor: Ragnarok and next year’s Avengers: Infinity War.

Marvel has worked out rights issues in the past. The company made a deal with Spider-Man rights-owner Sony to make Spider-Man: Homecoming the first movie ever that actually puts the character in the same world as his Marvel counterparts.

Would you like to see another Hulk movie? Let us know in the comments below!

from GameSpot https://www.gamespot.com/articles/a-new-standalone-hulk-movie-will-never-happen-mark/1100-6451769/

Author: Adventures Gate

Hey everyone, I'm Jonathan but people will know me as Jon... I enjoy hiking and exploring the outside world as well as getting to see fantastic views. It can bring you to the most beautiful places on earth and into contact with amazing plants and wildlife and can be done all year round which is why I enjoy it so much despite it being challenging sometimes due to the weather - it has allowed me to meet a lot of new people and experience things I wouldn't have before. I also find it relaxing and interesting. I also really enjoy blogging and sharing my experiences with similar people. Hopefully you will read mine. My company Adventures Gate displays my other hobby - gaming! I love collecting items to do with gaming and playing in general. I guess I am a bit of a geek when it comes to this. Adventures Gate now offer free postage options when you spend more than £20 (there may be a small additional charge for larger items). That`s free 1st class post in the UK and free airmail to Europe.

Leave a Reply

