Super Smash Bros. Wii U Finals At EVO 2017 Will Be Broadcast On Disney XD

There’s been a lot of news in recent weeks about esports being broadcast on live TV, whether that’s Rocket League coming to NBC Sports or ESPN 2 showing the Street Fighter V finals at EVO again. Today, another TV channel joined in that’s a little more surprising: Disney XD will broadcast the Super Smash Bros. Wii U finals at EVO 2017.

You read that right: Disney XD–the Disney spinoff channel that targets children ages 6-14 and primarily airs animated TV shows–is showing the Smash Bros. finals live. It’s part of Disney XD’s new gaming effort that it calls D|XP.

Starting tomorrow, July 15, from 9 PM-3 AM ET every night this summer, D|XP will air gaming-related content on Disney XD. It’s unclear what, exactly, the program will show during that block, but it’s partnering with content producers like ESPN and the Electronic Sports League.

The Super Smash Bros. finals air this Sunday, July 16, at 3 PM PT/6 PM ET/11 PM BST. Later that night, at 7 PM PT/10 PM ET/3 AM BST, ESPN 2 will broadcast the Street Fighter V finals.

This is the latest in a series of moves from television networks to increase their coverage of esports. ESPN, for example, has also brought Halo 5: Guardians to the Winter X Games, and previous years witnessed Counter-Strike: Global Offensive and Call of Duty competitions at the X Games. This year, Rocket League will be featured at the Summer X Games and streamed live on ESPN 3 in addition to its other deal with NBC Sports.

from GameSpot https://www.gamespot.com/articles/super-smash-bros-wii-u-finals-at-evo-2017-will-be-/1100-6451692/

Advertisements

Author: Adventures Gate

Hey everyone, I'm Jonathan but people will know me as Jon... I enjoy hiking and exploring the outside world as well as getting to see fantastic views. It can bring you to the most beautiful places on earth and into contact with amazing plants and wildlife and can be done all year round which is why I enjoy it so much despite it being challenging sometimes due to the weather - it has allowed me to meet a lot of new people and experience things I wouldn't have before. I also find it relaxing and interesting. I also really enjoy blogging and sharing my experiences with similar people. Hopefully you will read mine. My company Adventures Gate displays my other hobby - gaming! I love collecting items to do with gaming and playing in general. I guess I am a bit of a geek when it comes to this. Adventures Gate now offer free postage options when you spend more than £20 (there may be a small additional charge for larger items). That`s free 1st class post in the UK and free airmail to Europe.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s